The Question of Race

aka apparently I just can’t let this go

I’ve been lowkey avoiding this blog because I’ve been basically working on writing the same post for the past month, trying to decide if I want to publish it or not.  It is basically a question of how “seriously” I want to take this blog, which is a weird question because I would post about this with zero hesitation on a personal blog, but this blog is already “too serious” for that while somehow being “not serious enough” because it’s just a quick and easy way to get a grade.

Basically it’s been a month and I’m still baffled by the little disclaimer/warning we received at the beginning of the class on “Representing Race” to behave, because (and maybe I’m wrong) I feel like it wasn’t said with the idea of preventing people from casually slinging around racial slurs but rather to tell us to be gentle and patient if someone was “accidentally” racist.

What finally made me post this incredibly heavily edited post (I’m not even totally sure it’s comprehensible anymore) is the immense frustration that rose again today of being five minutes into a class discussion and realizing that even though this is a conversation about race, even though this is a conversation about writing by non-white authors, this is a conversation for white people.

I mean, I guess I’m just biased, but it feels a lot harder to be critical of online spaces when at least here there are places where it feels a little more like I can actually talk.  Then it still took me a month to say this anyway.

The Angry Minority label is a label that once stuck, will never peel away. As a freshman, I avoided it, speaking carefully, never calling anyone out, and framing racism as something that only happens between pages, in faraway cities, but never to us […] Crying and complaining get you disqualified, but if you appropriate their words of statistics, of fancy book learning, of speaking when it’s your turn, you can play the game of English thrones, and possibly win it. Checkmate by the Angry Minority. E1 to FU.

– Monica Torres, “Majoring in English”

The Question of Race

Leave a Reply

